Some thoughts on the “free will” vs. “sovereignty of God” debate

It takes different forms, but the dispute between Calvinism and Arminianism is one of the most common (and confusing) theological debates that takes place among believers.  Because of its prominence, it is probably the most tired and worn out theological issue within the scope of Christianity.  For this reason, I won’t get too much into the nuances of the debate itself.

My reason for writing this blog is somewhat personal.  I’ve seen the harm and disunity that this discussion can create within a community of believers, and that more than anything is what grieves me.  It seems that bitterness and resentment follow this debate wherever it goes.  Some outspoken person brings up that they’re a Calvinist and some other outspoken person declares the logical impossibility of the position.  Soon enough insults will start flying (usually behind people’s backs): “Maybe if so-and-so read their Bible more…” etc.  Eventually, Team Free Will and Team Calvin form, having unofficial gatherings where they bash the opposing side of the debate.

Like I said, I don’t really want to open up arguments right now.  However, I do want to point out the glaringly unchristian way in which this debate often plays itself out.  In many ways, I’m rebuking myself here.  I’ve been just as much an offender here as anyone (and quite possibly more so).  I’ve used silly reasons to justify my stern and harsh tone like, “Jesus spoke authoritatively, so I can too!”  The only way that authority transfers to anyone else is if they are directly quoting scripture itself.  Scriptural authority does not transfer to my extra-biblical explanations.  I think that a heavy dose of humility is needed in this matter – regardless of which side of the debate you find yourself on.  We need to remember that both sides are seeking to know God better, to get a fuller understanding of his revelation.  I think that if we keep that motivation at the forefront of our debates, they can become an act of worship instead of an occasion for disunity.  We should be yearning to know God better, not yearning to win an argument.  (However, I do want to point out, for my own sake and for others, that pride is, more often than not, the primary motivation in said discussions.  That is sin.  That needs to be repented of.)

Another quick thought before I go.  I’ve run into more than a few people who respond to debates like this with “I just don’t think little theological minutiae  like this is important.”  If what they’re trying to say is that the debate itself is often unhelpful, I heartily agree (this is what I’ve just been talking about in the rest of the blog).  However, I would disagree with the assertion that it is unimportant.  If you feel this way, I would simply ask you this: What could possibly be more important than right thinking about God?  If we have two opinions about God that are incompatible, the logical conclusion is that at least one of us is wrong in our opinion.  If one of us in wrong in the way that we think about God, that is a serious problem.  Our response then should be to seek God’s face in our discussion of our differing opinions, keeping him as our focus instead of ourselves.  We all agree (I hope) that the Bible is the infallible Word of God.  So let’s start thereand work our way out.

About zacharywagner

Meh.
This entry was posted in Analyses (when I find time). Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment